Boogied, Boozed, Bantered: Brew(ed) at the Bog.

Festival season is upon us! This weekend I played my first in the form of Brew at the Bog and I had an absolute ball (despite the hangover I woke up with after venturing into Inverness town centre the night before). I was convinced I’d be playing to about three people since I was on relatively early but thankfully I was wrong. In fact, the audience in the Bothy proved to be as lovely as they were discerning so I decided to take a wee photo of them. Here they are!

Recognise yourself or someone you know! Just click above and go tag them on Facebook. Or do nothing, it's your life hombre.

Want to be as happy as these guys? You know what to do.

I did have to apologise to a couple of picture-taking audience members however. You see, when I see the light of a flash on someone’s camera, I often can’t help looking directly at them. Which means that instead of getting a photo that looks like this:

…you get one that looks like this:

Yeah. Yeah. To be fair, this photo was taken by a kind chap at the front of the crowd who probably didn’t expect me to say yes when he asked if I wanted him to take a photo of me with my own camera. Now I know I’m capable of making this face and the world will never be quite the same for me again.

I enjoyed the hell out of my set and judging by the response, so did the audience. There’s even a lovely review. Afterwards I met lots of lovely people, got some good chat, some good beers, and even sold my limited edition Brew at the Bog t-shirt (I only made one). After that I spent most of the day checking out some great bands and continued to sample a variety of BrewDog delights. One of the highlights for me (music-wise) was definitely This Silent Forest, who I recommend checking out at your earliest convenience. If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll already know that when they played the Barn Stage, they killed it. My beer highlight was probably 5am Saint. It looked dirty and it tasted great. Try it, you’ll see what I mean. Oh yeah, I also met a horse. He was cool.

I didn’t manage to catch everyone’s full set, but some highlights that I’d recommend checking out are Kitty the Lion, Olympic Swimmers, Randolph’s Leap, and Donald MacDonald and the Islands. In fact, I think I’ll round this blog post off with one of my favourite photos, featuring one of those very people.

I really had a great time at Brew at the Bog, I can’t recommend it enough. They’ve already set the date for next year and I’m sure the festival is just going to go from strength to strength so put it your diary (or…ehh…iCalendar?). As for me, I’ll have an updated gig list soon, but for the moment, don’t forget that you can catch me back in Inverness for goNORTH and I’ll be heading to Doune the Rabbit Hole in August. See you there!

If you were at Brew at the Bog, please do share your thoughts in the comments below. Who did you see? What were your highlights? Which was your favourite beer? Did you meet any local wildlife? Maybe a horse? And of course, if you took any photos of me during my set (especially if I’m staring right into your lens like a weirdo), drop me a line at shamblesmiller(at)gmail(dot)com, through Twitter, or through Facebook.

Now, as promised, a(nother) photo.

That’s Donald from Donald MacDonald and the Islands watching Squirrel from This Silent Forest eat a lemon slice.

Til next time!

love Shambles

x

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

