Vespbar Open Mic, hosted by…me!

As you might have guessed from the lovely advert above, I have some news! Starting this Sunday the 2nd of September, I’m going to be hosting the open mic in Vespbar for a wee while. It’s free entry, there’s a free drink for performers (and if you sign up for their mailing list even a free pizza) so it’s skint-people friendly. It’s also nice when an open mic is pretty…well…open, so this one isn’t restricted to musicians. Spoken word, comedy, poetry, firebreathing*; whatever your talent, it’s more than welcome in Vespbar on Sunday nights. Even if you’re basically Mike Myers in So I Married An Axe Murderer. In fact, especially if you’re basically Mike Myers in So I Married An Axe Murderer.

Wondering where Vespbar is? Click here for a mapthing. Want to find it the old fashioned way? Here are the clues I used to tell people how to find it for my single launch!

  • It’s on Drury Street.
  • You know, the lane opposite from the lane Stereo is on.
  • The same lane as the Horseshoe Bar.
  • It used to be called O’Henry’s.
  • Just past the strippers.

It’s interesting seeing at what level of description people click. To be honest, most Glaswegians get it from “used to be O’Henry’s”. Only a few don’t get it until I say it’s past the strippers.

Either way, I hope lots of you will come down. I’ll be singing some tunes and if you want a wee turn, don’t be shy! There’s a lovely atmosphere in Vespbar so I reckon you’ll feel right at home. Also, you’ll get to see me attempt to sing songs I don’t normally play at gigs. Ridiculous hip-hop covers anyone? Well, we’ll see.

Hope to see you there.

Til then!

love Shambles

x

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

