For the Would-be Woody Guthrie

Hello folks, how the devil are you? Good? Glad to hear it. I’ve written a new song that I’d love for you to download (for free!) but first I want to tell you a little about it. It’s inspired by the fact that recently I noticed some of the songs I was writing were a bit…well…moany. They weren’t all bad, just not what I really WANTED to write. These songs are now mostly forgotten, just occasionally revisited chord progressions and scrap-paper lyrics.

What I really wanted to do was take my anger and my disappointment in a system that seems to be failing, and channel it into my music. I wanted to write about the pride and hope I feel seeing people taking action against said system. I wanted to vent my ire on any number of social and political subjects, but couldn’t seem to focus in on one theme.

This song broke me out of that funk, both by addressing my frustration and giving myself a kick up the arse, whilst harnessing how I feel about these other topics. There’s a cheeky reference to Billy Bragg’s comments on the need for music to get political again (comments that I feel many people have either misunderstood or misconstrued) and as you might have guessed, a nod to Woody Guthrie and his guitar (pictured above), as well as support for the global occupy movement.

Anyway, I don’t want to explain away the song too much, so here it is. I hope you like it.

Thanks for listening. If you liked it (or know someone who would) please feel free to share it. Just click on the little arrow if you’d like to download it and feel free to embed it anywhere you like.

Til next time folks,

love Shambles

x

(When this post was originally published, the version of the track on the page was an earlier demo version. To hear that original, click here)

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “For the Would-be Woody Guthrie

  1. Jim Gellatly says:

    He’s stolen your shirt!

Leave a Reply

