A Little Support

Hello again folks, good to see you. Being a folky man on the Glasgow music scene, I get to see some of my favourite bands fairly regularly and I often find myself daydreaming about getting to share a stage with some of them. (Ok, so I might not be very cool, but at least I’m honest) To that end, I thought I’d write a wee list of the top 4 bands I’d love to support live. In no particular order you understand. I don’t play favourites. Except with beer that is, mine’s a Stella.

Kitty the Lion


Anna Meldrum’s folk-pop five-piece are one of my favourite bands around right now. With catchy, uplifting songs and honest lyrics which often have that humorous element I obviously have a soft spot for, they were always bound to be a hit with me. I’m a sucker for anyone who sings in their own accent. Plus, Meldrum sets a good example to me as a songwriter: her songs are witty without any of the dirty bits or swear words that so often pepper mine. Sorry about that Mum. Check out stuff by them by clicking me, go on, you know you want to.

Second Hand Marching Band


There’s something really special about this 20+ group of musicians and there’s always a very unique atmosphere at their gigs. It doesn’t hurt that they have some great songs of course, but there’s something about hearing 20 or so talented musicians singing in unison that really draws you in and makes you want to be a part of what’s going on. I was lucky enough to catch them at the 13th Note recently, where the audience got to join in with the band as part of a very special recording. I can’t wait to hear the results, but in the meantime, you could always pop over to Stereokill to see a video I produced of them at Wickerman last year.

Anavris


This might seem like a strange choice, as we’re nothing alike musically. After all, I’m a geeky, specky folk-punk singer-songwriter and they’re an alternative heavy rock band who are almost annoyingly cool. However, as far as I’m concerned they’re one of the best unsigned bands in Scotland right now and I love seeing them play live. Not to mention that the band features the infamous Neil Slorance on bass guitar and it’s always nice to share the bill with your mates, as well as great musicians. Go check them out, they’re braw.

Frank Turner


Ok, so this is probably the most obvious one on the list. As if you don’t already know, Frank Turner is a folk/punk troubador of the highest order. He’s one of the musicians whose music made me feel, after years of writing songs I didn’t have the confidence to play, that I had it in me to write music that some people might actually want to hear. Seeing him perform such great material and hold a crowd’s attention by himself lit that spark in me that made me finally take the leap into performing live, by myself. The last time I met him he popped upstairs after his gig to join in the open mic night and it turned into a night I’ll never forget. Read all about that particular adventure at the following fine, upstanding young blog posts:

Hullo. I’m the first part. I like long walks and tabernacles.

Hey! I’m the second part. I love cosy nights in with a good book and the odd crepe suzette.

?

This was originally going to be a top 5 list, but I have to be honest, I just couldn’t decide on the 5th act. SO, I thought I’d ask you lovely folk. Who do you think I’d make a good support act for? Also, if it’s anyone feasible, feel free to tell them you think so, I’m always up for a gig :P You can leave your answers/suggestions in the comments below.

Anyway, if you haven’t checked any of these folk out before, I recommend that you get onto it quick sharp! They’re all beyond braw.

Til next time folks!

love Shambles x

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

