“Fuck You I Won’t Do What You Tell Me…”

Are you sure about that?

Re: “Rage Against The Machine for Christmas No.1”

People across the internet are creating groups, sending out messages to strangers and friends alike and reminding everyone who doesn’t want the X Factor to get to Number One that they have to buy ‘Killing In The Name Of’.

A tad ironic, no?

Given that most famous lyric, “fuck you I won’t do what you tell me” from this song, the only logical conclusion for fans of the band is for NOBODY to conform to the directive set by the groups, and deliberately NOT buy the single.

Thus, pop music has eaten itself.

Also, doesn’t somebody try this every year?

But, I talk a lot of shite at least 90% of the time so I’ll probably still end up buying it. Its an interesting experiment that seems to have garnered more attention than previous “Get [insert improbable song] to Christmas Number One!” campaigns.

Also, I must admit that its nice to see everyone band together in a shared cause. The people involved really seem to care. If only people would be as passionate about voting and making a change when it comes time for an election.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on ““Fuck You I Won’t Do What You Tell Me…”

  1. Lisa says:

    I liked last year better, when people bought the original Leonard Cohen and the Jeff Buckley cover of Hallelujah in protest of the murder of that song. I couldn’t care less what gets to number one at any time of year, and I’m willing to bet that most, if not all, of the people involved in this don’t either.

  2. Andrew Welsh says:

    Its obviously been a marketing ploy to get the rock fans to pay out money to Sony.

    Simon Cowell works with Sony. RATM are signed to Sony. That Joe guy is signed to Cowell under Sony. So Cowell/Sony won either way.

    I bought the song AGAIN so that I didn’t have to listen to that ballad pish on the radio as much. I also have slightly diminishing respect for RATM. When they were touring in the 90’s they donated a dollar per ticket to local charities.

    Big up the corporate Anarchy!

Leave a Reply

