The October Adventures of Shambles Part 1

What a fucking night I had last night. I interviewed folk-punk legend and personal hero of mine, Frank Turner, before his sold-out show at the Queen Margaret Union in Glasgow’s west end. I then went to said show and sung ma wee heart out whilst simultaneously dancing ma wee socks off. I then met Frank afterwards, mentioned that there was an open mic night on upstairs and that he should come up and play. Which he did. As did a few of his bandmates and friends, most notably London-based singer/songwriter Beans On Toast. And here comes my favourite bit.

I ended up beatboxing for Mr. On Toast while he rapped. For quite a while. If he’d gone on much longer I may have passed out from lack of oxygen. Frank then took to the stage to do a bit of beatboxing himself while I went for a cheeky wee drink or twelve. He was absolutely amazing, the atmosphere was electric and everyone had a fantastic time. I went on and played a couple of songs a bit later, including my wee cover of Hey Ya, and since I don’t yet have the video of my fantastic beatboxing skillz (sic) yet, I have this video of Hey Ya that I recently recorded. I hope you enjoy it!

Til next time, lots of love

Shambles xxx

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The October Adventures of Shambles Part 1

  1. […] Hullo. I’m the first part. I like long walks and tabernacles. […]

  2. […] anyway) I’ve played gigs that went well and gigs that didn’t go so well; met some amazing musicians; beatboxed badly for a London folk-singer; told the ‘beatboxed’ story far too many […]

  3. […] I felt inspired and invigorated; hopeful and just plain joyous. When Frank mentioned that since his last visit to Glasgow, he’d been made an honourary lifetime member of the Queen Margaret Union, I was reminded of […]

Leave a Reply

